Affordable Driving Lessons

Click here to edit subtitle

Licensing & State Laws Information

Missouri Instruction Permit - 15 years old


To get an instruction permit in Missouri, you must be at least 15 years old. Before you apply for your permit, you must first visit a State Highway Patrol examination station to take:

  • A vision test
  • A road signs exam
  • A written knowledge test

After you pass your MO permit exams, you will receive a Driver Examination Record indicating that you passed all required test. With the record, visit your local Missouri license office with your parent/guardian and:
  • Submit proof of name, date of birth & birthplace (certified U.S. birth certificate, original U.S. passport or certificate of citizenship)
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of Missouri residency (bank statement, paycheck, parent's utility bill)
  • Complete an application for a driver's license/instruction permit (Only available at your MO driver license office)
  • Your Driver Examination Record
  • Payment for permit fee

You will receive an instruction permit that will allow you to begin your practice driving with a qualified driver. Your MO learner's permit is valid for 1 year from the date of issue, and you must hold your permit for a minimum of 182 days before you are eligible to apply for an intermediate driver's license.

You must always follow the below driving restrictions:
  • You must always carry your MO instruction permit with you while driving
  • Your supervising driver must be in the front seat
  • All occupants of the vehicle must wear a seat belt
  • You may not carry any other passengers other than your qualified driver

Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements:
  • Complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice
  • Complete 10 hours of practice being driven at night between sunset & sunrise
  • Parent/Guardian or qualified driving instructor will need to log hours to verify compliance requirements


Missouri Intermediate Driver's License - 16 years old


Once you are at least 16 years old, you are eligible to apply for an Intermediate Missouri driver's license & take the behind-the-wheel road test. You must meet the following requirements:

  • Must have held your learner's permit for at least 182 days.
  • Must have completed 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including 10 hours of night driving
  • May NOT have had any alcohol related convictions in the previous 12 months

To apply for your MO Intermediate driver's license, visit your local MO driver license office with your parent/guardian/driving instructor & submit the following:
  • Your valid learner's permit
  • Completed application for a MO driver's license (Only available at your driver license office)
  • Proof of completion for your required behind-the-wheel driving hours
  • Proof of name, birth date & birthplace (Certified U.S. birth certificate, original U.S. passport, certificate of citizenship)
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of Missouri address/residency
  • Payment for license fee
  • Proof of insurance & MO vehicle registration for the vehicle you will be taking your road test in

Once you pass with a score of 70% or higher, you will receive a temporary intermediate driver's license. You will receive your actual license in the mail within 10 business days.

You may now drive unsupervised in MO, you must still adhere to the following restriction until you are 18 years old:
  • Must always carry your intermediate license with you while driving
  • May NOT drive between 1AM & 5AM, unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old or you are traveling from school, work or due to an emergency
  • You & your passengers must at all times wear seat belts
  • First 6 months, you may only have 1 passenger under 19 years old in your vehicle (not including immediate family member)
  • After 6 months, you many only have up to 3 passengers under 19 years old (not including immediate family members)

Full Missouri Driver's License - Under 21


To upgrade to your full MO driver's license, you must be at least 18 years old. You may not have had any traffic tickets or alcohol related violations within the 12 months prior to applying.


To apply for your Full Missouri driver's license, visit your local driver license office and:

  • Present your valid MO intermediate driver's license
  • Provide proof of name, birth date & birthplace (certified U.S. birth certificate, original U.S. passport, certificate of citizenship)
  • Provide your Social Security Card
  • Proof of MO address/residency (bank statement, paycheck, parent's utility bill)
  • Pay the MO driver's license fee

You will receive a temporary MO driver's license that will be attached to your intermediate license & your intermediate license will be punched "Void". You will receive your permanent driver's license within 10 business days.

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.